Museum of Art, Seoul National University



The Museum of Art, Seoul National University(aka. MoA SNU) is the first university museum in South Korea to be the affiliated facility of Seoul National University. It was formerly the contemporary art department of the University Museum of Seoul National University. MoA was opened on June 8, 2006 with the adoption of the proposal for the establishment of the museum submitted by Professor Lee Jong Sang of the Oriental Painting Department of the Fine Art University. As a university museum, it focuses not only on art exhibitions, but also on the ideology of art and culture education. It provides educational programs with members of the school and local residents. It is located in the Gwanak campus of the Seoul National University, and is a unique building designed by Dutch architect, Rem Koolhaas, who also won the Pritzker Architecture Award in 2000.

In accordance with the museum establishment proposal from professor Lee Jong-sang in 1995, Seoul National University confirmed the art museum site next to the main gate of Gwanak campus. In 2003, Seoul National University promulgated related regulations and appointed professor Lee Jong-sang (head of the University Museum) as the first director of the Museum of Art. The new building of the museum started construction on August 30, 2003 and was completed in 2005. In 2006, Professor Jung Hyung Min of the Oriental Painting Department of the Seoul National University of Fine Arts took over as the head of the museum and opened its door with the opening exhibition "Invitation to Contemporary Art" on June 8.

read more

hide this





Address: 1 Gwanak-ro, Gwanak-Gu, Seoul, South Korea 08826

Tel: +82 2 880 9504